Wednesday, March 5, 2008

March 5

Part of the Maine Court System, the Edward T. Gignoux courthouse has a prominent location in Portland. To the immediate right of the building is a similary historic court building. From the Maine.Gov site....

The District of Maine was one of the original thirteen district courts established by the Judiciary Act of 1789. A district court was created in each of the eleven states that had ratified the Constitution by September, 1789, as well as in Maine (then part of Massachusetts) and Kentucky (then still part of Virginia)
Thus concludees today's brief history lesson.