Friday, November 25, 2022

Oh, Christmas Tree!

A classy looking tree in Monument Square this year. Will be back for more interesting photos once the snow starts flying.

Portland, Maine November 2022 Christmas tree in Monument Square night


Sunday, November 20, 2022

Go-Go Photo

Dropped of a couple recent prints off for the 22nd annual "Photo a Go-Go" fundraiser for The Bakery Photo Collective. The event is coming up on Friday December 9th, check it out.



Saturday, November 12, 2022

Hall of Mechanics

The brick and stone exterior of Mechanics' Hall (1859), which was recently added to the National Register of Historic Places this week.

November 2022 The brick and stone exterior of Mechanics' Hall (1859), which was recently added to the National Register of Historic Places this week.


Friday, November 11, 2022

Sunday, November 6, 2022

Old Port Perch

The charm and urban density of Portland's Old Port from near the top of 201 Federal Street.

Portland Maine October 2022 Old Port Perch: The density and charm of the Old Port from 201 Federal street aerial


Thursday, November 3, 2022

The. View from the Top

A view towards Munjoy Hill from the top of Maine's new tallest building. Stay tuned for way too many photos from this amazing spot.

Portland Maine A view towards Munjoy Hill from the top of Maine's new tallest building. Stay tuned for way too many photos from this amazing spot. #PortlandMaine #PortlandME #Maine



Saturday, October 29, 2022

Sunday, October 16, 2022

Saturday, October 15, 2022

Monday, October 10, 2022

Sunday, October 9, 2022

Saturday, October 8, 2022

Saturday, October 1, 2022

Sunday, September 18, 2022

Milk Street

A splash of color above Milk Street in the Old Port. This street's name comes from Deacon James Milk, who in the 1730’s owned a tannery and built boats near the foot of the street [Source].

Portland, Maine USA Old Port Milk Street photo by Corey Templeton.




Monday, September 12, 2022

Up Federal Street

201 Federal Street, future site of 263 apartments and Maine's tallest building, seen from the corner of Federal and Exchange Streets.

Portland, Maine September 2022 photo by Corey Templeton 201 Federal Street under construction


Friday, September 2, 2022

Share a Bike

A nearly empty bike share rack (generally a good sign) at Monument Square the other evening.

Portland, Maine August 2022 A nearly empty bike share rack (generally a good sign) at Monument Square the other evening.


Thursday, September 1, 2022

Saturday, August 20, 2022

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Sunday, August 14, 2022

Seeing Colors

I'm not able to get out for sunsets like I used to, so was happy to stumble upon some nice colors in the neighborhood last night. From Bracket Street in the West End.

Pretty dramatic sunset over West End Brackett Street Portland Maine 2022


Thursday, August 11, 2022

After a Little Rain

Strong reflections at Emery & Pine after a recent rainy afternoon.

Portland Maine July 2022 Strong reflections at Emery & Pine after a recent rainy afternoon.


Monday, August 1, 2022

Green Below, Blue Above

The row houses of Stratton Place above a nice green lawn and below a bright blue sky.

Portland Maine July 2022 The row houses of Stratton Place above a nice green lawn and below a bright blue sky. #PortlandME


Sunday, July 31, 2022

Sunny Sidewalks

Good to see the busy sidewalks of Exchange Street on a sunny day.

Portland, Maine July 2022 Good to see the busy sidewalks of Exchange Street on a sunny day.


Saturday, July 23, 2022

Bread and Butter

Bread AND pastry? Yum. Looking forward to Zu Bakery opening soon at 81 Clark Street.

Portland Maine Zu Bakery bread and pastry 81 Clark Street


Thursday, July 21, 2022

Off the Rails

A bit of rail from an old trolley line visible on Spring Street. In addition to safe and efficient transportation around the peninsula, trolleys also used to connect cities and towns all around Maine.There's an immense amount of info and photos of the Portland trolley system (the Portland Railroad) here: https://narcissus1912.blogspot.com/2018/10/portland-railroad-history-of-public.html.

Portland, Maine Old Trolley Track railroad line on Spring Street


Wednesday, July 13, 2022

Wheels

Portland Maine July 2022 A cyclist zooming past the railroad cars on the Eastern Waterfront.

Portland Maine July 2022 A cyclist zooming past the railroad cars on the Eastern Waterfront. #PortlandME

Saturday, July 9, 2022

Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Monday, July 4, 2022

Stars/Stripes

A patriotic crane (on the 201 Federal Street site) on this fourth day of July.

Portland, Maine July 2022 photo by Corey Templeton. A patriot crane (on the 201 Federal Street site) on this fourth day of July.


Sunday, July 3, 2022

On the Trail

A plaque in front of 165 State Street, the home of Augusta Merrill Barstow Hunt. Hunt was a prominent activist in women’s rights, suffrage and the temperance movement. Check out all the other stops on the Portland Women's History Trail.

Portland Maine Women's History Trail 165 State Street Augusta Merrill Barstow Hunt womens suffrage


Saturday, June 25, 2022

Thursday, June 23, 2022

Fogcutter

Cutting through fog on the way back to port. From Bug Light Park in South Portland.

June 2022 Portland, Maine Cutting through fog on the way back to port. From Bug Light Park in South Portland.


Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Ivy League

The back side of a half ivy, half brick building in the Old Port.

June 2022 Portland, Maine. The back side of a half ivy, half brick building in the Old Port.


Thursday, June 16, 2022

Monday, June 13, 2022

The View?

Taking in a nice view of the fog at Bug Light Park in South Portland.

Taking in a nice view of the fog at Bug Light Park in South Portland.


Sunday, June 5, 2022

Rays of Light

That late-afternoon light against the town houses of Danforth Street.

Portland Maine USA May 2022 by Corey Templeton. That late-afternoon light against the town houses of Danforth Street.


Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Saturday, May 14, 2022

Thursday, May 12, 2022

Blink & You'll Miss It

I only got one cherry blossom photo this year. From my favorite stretch of trees on Brackett Street.

Portland, Maine USA April 2022 cherry blossom tree on Brackett Street in West End.


Saturday, May 7, 2022

Sunday, May 1, 2022

Park Avenue View

A view from yesterday morning down Park Avenue, the same stretch in which a person on a bicycle was tragically killed in a collision with a vehicle hours later. Last month the Bicycle Coalition of Maine reported that "Maine has seen a higher yearly increase in people being hit and killed by cars than almost every other state." Clearly much work remains to create a safer and more equitable transportation system for all people.

Portland Maine April 2022 Park Avenue bike lane photo by Corey Templeton


Saturday, April 30, 2022

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Sunday, April 24, 2022

Bugging Out on Valley Street

An interesting/terrifying sculpture on Valley Street. 




New Houses

Progress on just a few of the non-luxury housing projects underway in Portland. 

Photo 1 - 52 Hanover Street by Port Property (171 apartments)


Photo 2 - 210 Valley Street by Avesta (60 apartments)


Photo 3 - 201 Federal Street by Redfern (263 apartments)


Photo 4 - Phoenix Flats at 83 Middle Street by Community Housing of Maine (45 apartments). 



Saturday, April 16, 2022

Monday, April 11, 2022

Saturday, April 2, 2022

Wednesday, March 16, 2022

Fresh Paint

The reassembled and repainted "Portland Co." building along the Eastern Waterfront.

Portland, Maine March 2022 photo by Corey Templeton. The reassembled and repainted "Portland Co." building along the Eastern Waterfront.


Tuesday, March 15, 2022

The Crane

A glimpse of the impressively-tall crane that is building 201 Federal Street, which will include 263 market-rate apartments and will be Maine's tallest building once complete.

Portland, Maine March 2022 photo by Corey Templeton of 201 Federal Street under construction crane.


Tuesday, February 15, 2022

Sunday, February 13, 2022

Friday, February 4, 2022

Sunday, January 23, 2022

The Row

The corner of historic Park Street Row, which runs from 88-114 Park Street. The number of lights on caught my eye on a recent evening.

Portland, Maine USA photo by Corey Templeton. January 2022. Park Street Row house at night.