Thursday, October 23, 2008

Portland Green Streets Day


Green Streets Day is the last Friday of every month, and is a grassroots effort to encourage alternate (green) transportation. They have a poster somewhere on the site that you can print off, but I didn't care for it so I made my own. They weren't interested in my design I guess, but if you live in Portland feel free to print it and hang it up somewhere!

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Telephone

I thought everyone had cell phones these days?

Visit the new bollard website!

Friday, October 17, 2008

Payson Park


With recreation fields, baseball diamonds, open space, and some good views of the peninsula, one should venture to Payson Park. You can see it in this Portland Trails map, at the top center. I'm not sure exactly who it is named after or how long it's been there, but it is connected to the Back Cove trail and is a popular place most of the year.

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Autumnal Cumberland Ave

I hope to do a few features in the coming days, stay tuned.

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Fresh Maine Lobster


A friendly lobster waves to tourists on Commercial Street this past weekend. In the background is the Hilton Garden Inn.

Monday, October 13, 2008

High Street

A look up High Street, with the Eastland Park Hotel on the left and the Portland Museum of Art straight ahead across Congress Street. This is the nice view as I exit my apartment building.

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Scenic Outlook

Enjoying the view from the scenic outlook on North Street.

Saturday, October 11, 2008

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Holiday Inn By the Bay

A few night shots of Portland's Holiday Inn (By the Bay). This one was built in 1973 and is one of the bigger hotels. Portland is a small town and most buildings downtown go dark after 6pm, but hotels offer some nice lighting for night photography.




Monday, October 6, 2008

urban wildlife #2

On another note, we now have internet at the apartment, so I should be on the ball with posting daily.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Fence in focus

I-295 and the Maine Medical Center complex in background.

Saturday, October 4, 2008

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

City Hall (remix)

I was playing around with an older shot of city hall that I posted long ago, here's the outcome. I like it.



Now that September has ended, here are the visitor statistics (statcounter.com) for the year thus far. It's interesting that I still had visitors over the few months that I didn't get to make any new posts. Looks like things are on their way back up to June levels! Also, I made $0.87 from google adsense in September.